Olathe news briefs for the week of Aug. 17

City Council

The Olathe City Council will meet Tuesday, Aug. 18, at 7 p.m. in the Council Chamber at City Hall for a regular session. Regular sessions are broadcast live on OGN (Comcast channel 7, AT&T channel 99 and on the City’s website).  For a recap of the previous Council meeting, visit the City Clerk’s webpage. The City Council is expected to vote on the proposed 2016 budget, 2016-2020 Capital Improvement Plan (CIP), and 2016-2017 fee resolution.

KDOT I-35 Pavement Reconstruction Project updates

The first phase of the KDOT I-35 Pavement Reconstruction Project, which affects I-35 from Santa Fe Street to 151st Street, is scheduled to be complete by early September. This will re-open the southbound I-35 Santa Fe entrance ramp and the southbound Old 56 Highway exit ramp. The second phase of the project has been delayed until spring 2016, which will close the Santa Fe to southbound I-35 entrance ramp, the Old U.S. 56 to northbound I-35 entrance ramp, and the northbound I-35 to Santa Fe Street/135th Street exit ramps. Updated daily traffic information from the Kansas Department of Transportation can be found at www.ksdot.org/kcmetro/laneclose.asp. Continue reading